World Cup 2018: Spain drop Fabregas, Morata, Alonso in 23-man squad (See Full Squad)

Spain has reportedly dropped Cesc Fabregas, Alvaro Morata and Marcos Alonso as well as Hector Bellerin from its 23-man World Cup squad, reports.

Coach Julen Lopetegui made this known at a news conference on Monday.

Lopetegui included Diego Costa, whose chances of a selection seemed unlikely when a transfer ban prevented him from joining Atletico Madrid until January.

31-year-old Fabregas earned his 100th cap for Spain during Euro 2016 and was trying to earn a World Cup call-up for the fourth time after making his debut in 2006.

The Chelsea midfielder set up the 116th-minute goal by Andres Iniesta in the 1-0 victory over Netherlands in the final in 2010.

Reports said Morata was left out due to inconsistent form in his first season at Chelsea, and Alonso became the first third-generation player to earn a cap for Spain when he was included for the friendlies against Germany and Argentina in March.

YOU MAY ALSO LIKE:   Uruguay vs Portugal: Cavani gives update on injury

He said,

“We have decided that this team is who is going to help us the most. It is difficult, but these players will represent the dreams of our country.”

Below is Spain’s 23-player squad:

Goalkeepers: Kepa Arrizabalaga (Athletic Bilbao), David De Gea (Manchester United), Pepe Reina (Napoli)

Defenders: Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea), Dani Carvajal (Real Madrid), Jordi Alba (Barcelona), Nacho (Real Madrid), Nacho Monreal (Arsenal), Alvaro Odriozola (Real Sociedad), Gerard Pique (Barcelona), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid)

Midfielders: Isco (Real Madrid), Thiago Alcantara (Bayern Munich), Sergio Busquets (Barcelona), David Silva (Manchester City), Andres Iniesta (Barcelona), Saul Niguez (Atletico Madrid), Koke (Atletico Madrid)

Forwards: Marco Asensio (Real Madrid), Iago Aspas (Celta Vigo), Diego Costa (Atletico Madrid), Rodrigo (Valencia), Lucas Vazquez (Real Madrid)

Kindly share this story

Similar Posts

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.