We Are Presently Feeding Over 5m Pupils In 19 States – Presidency

The presidency on Monday said over 5 million pupils in 19 states are now being fed daily for free under the Buhari’s National Homegrown School Feeding Programme, which is directly within the purview of the office of the Vice-president, Prof. Yemi Osinbajo.

This was contained in a press statement made available to journalists by the senior special adviser to the Vice-president on media and publicity, Mr Laolu Akande.

According to the statement, this was in furtherance of the administration’s goal to tackle poverty and hunger, and to create jobs for Nigerians in line with its inclusive growth plan.

It added that the Buhari administration’s National Home-Grown School Feeding (NHGSF) Programme is now in 19 states across the federation, which include: Anambra, Enugu, Oyo, Osun, Ogun, Ebonyi, Zamfara, Delta, Abia, Benue, Plateau, Bauchi, Taraba, Kaduna, Akwa Ibom, Cross River, Imo, Jigawa and Niger states.

“So far, over five million pupils in 28,249 schools in these states are currently been fed under the programme, while Kano and Katsina states are expected to be added to the beneficiaries states in the coming weeks.

“Also, over 50,000 cooks are currently engaged under the programme.

“The school feeding programme, which is part of President Muhammadu Buhari administration’s N500 billion National Social Investment Programmes, NSIP, has a target to feed 5.5 million schoolchildren by the end of 2017,” the statement said.

YOU MAY ALSO LIKE:   Buhari feeds 3million school kids

It further said that the School Feeding Programme was presently collaborating with the Federal Ministry of Health to deliver an integrated deworming programme for pupils in classes 1 to 6 across 17 states under the NHGSFP.

“At least 243 Local Government Areas will benefit from the deworming exercise in the 17 states, including Abia, Akwa Ibom, Enugu, Niger, Osun, Bauchi, Jigawa, Katsina, Zamfara, Anambra, Benue, Imo, Kano, Kaduna, Ebonyi, Delta and Plateau states.

“The integrated programme, which is scheduled for the first and second week of December in these states, will deliver three different drugs for the treatment of diseases endemic to specific states; particularly schistosomiasis; soil-transmitted helminths and river blindness/onchocerciasis. The drugs to be distributed are Albendazole, Ivermectin and Parazaquintel.

“Supported by the Federal Government, three facilitators would be within the states for the period to achieve these objectives and ensure that the pupils in these states are dewormed”, he said.

Kindly share this story

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.