Career News Sports

Leicester City could make £150m being Premier League champions

leicester title winners

Leicester City football club could make up to £150 million from their Premier League league win, analysts have said.

The East Midlands club completed one of the most remarkable stories in the history of English football by winning the Premier League title.

Leicester City won the league against odds of 5000-1 when Chelsea and Tottenham Hotspur drew 2-2 at Stamford Bridge on Monday night.

Repucom, the sports and entertainment analyst, said that the money would largely come from the Premier League’s “merit payment”, or one-off prize money awarded for their win.

The club could earn potentially over £90 million from winning the league, compared to the £71.6 million they received last season, thanks to the Premier League distribution of revenue and prize money for finishing top of the table, Repucom said.

They would get £33m just for appearing in the group stages of next season’s Champions League, with another £3m waiting in performance bonuses.

A third place finish in their group would guarantee a place in the Europa League and another £20m.

Higher match day and commercial revenues could bring another £10m-£15m.

The Italian manager, Claudio Ranieri’s Leicester City winning team cost £54.4m.

Kasper Schmeichel – £2m
Danny Simpson – £2m
Robert Huth – £3m
Wes Morgan – £1m
Christian Fuchs – Free
Marcin Wasilewski – Free
Marc Albrighton – Free
Danny Drinkwater – £1m
N’Golo Kante – £5.6m
Riyad Mahrez – £400,000
Shinji Okazaki – £7m
Jamie Vardy – £1m
Mark Schwarzer – Free
Jeffrey Schlupp – Free
Demarai Gray – £3.8m
Andrej Kramaric – £7m
Yohan Benalouane – £5.6m
Andy King – Free
Gokhan Inler – £5m
Leonardo Ulloa – £10m
TOTAL: £54.4m

While closest rivals cost:

Hugo Lloris – £9.5m
Michel Vorm – £4.2m
Kyle Walker – £4.4m
Kieran Trippier – £3.5m
Jan Vertonghen – £9.3m
Toby Alderweireld – £12m
Kevin Wimmer – £4.5m
Ben Davies – £9.5m
Danny Rose – £1m
Eric Dier – £4m
Dele Alli – £5m
Ryan Mason – Free
Nabil Bentaleb – Free
Joshua Onomah – Free
Mousa Dembele – £14.2m
Tom Carroll – Free
Christian Eriksen – £10.1m
Erik Lamela – £30m
Nacer Chadli – £7m
Son Heung-Min – £21.9m
Clinton Njie – £11m
Harry Kane – Free
TOTAL: £161.1m

YOU MAY ALSO LIKE:   Sunday Oliseh Flown to Belgium As Health Condition Worsens

Joe Hart – £1m
Willy Caballero – £4.4m
Pablo Zabaleta – £6.5m
Bacary Sagna – Free
Aleksandar Kolarov – £16m
Gael Clichy – £7m
Eliaquim Mangala – £42m
Nicolas Otamendi – £28.5m
Vincent Kompany – £6m
Martin Demichelis – £3.5m
Yaya Toure – £24m
Fernandinho – £30m
Fernando – £12m
Fabian Delph – £8m
David Silva – £24m
Samir Nasri – £22m
Jesus Navas – £14.9m
Raheem Sterling – £49m
Kevin De Bruyne – £54m
Sergio Aguero – £38m
Wilfried Bony – £28m
Kelechi Iheanacho – Free
TOTAL: £418.8m

David Ospina – £3m
Petr Cech – £10m
Kieran Gibbs – Free
Per Mertesacker – £8.5m
Gabriel Paulista – £12m
Laurent Koscielny – £10m
Nacho Monreal – £8.5m
Calum Chambers – £15m
Hector Bellerin – £375,000
Tomas Rosicky – £7.5m
Mikel Arteta – £10m
Jack Wilshere – Free
Mesut Ozil – £42.5m
Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain – £12m
Aaron Ramsey – £5m
Santi Cazorla – £15m
Mathieu Flamini – Free
Francis Coquelin – £750,000
Mohamed Elneny – £7m
Olivier Giroud – £12m
Theo Walcott – £9m
Alexis Sanchez – £35m
Danny Welbeck – £16m
Joel Campbell – £750,000
TOTAL: £251.9m

Independent/ Sky

Kindly share this story

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.