Nasarawa Assembly suspends 6 APC lawmakers indefinitely over fighting

Nasarawa State House Of Assembly

The Nasarawa State House of Assembly, on Tuesday, suspended six of its members indefinitely over alleged misconduct.

It will recalled that the lawmakers, during plenary, engaged each other in a fight over issues surrounding the appointment of local council administrators.

Presiding over the sitting, deputy speaker of the assembly, Mr Godiya Akwashiki (PDP-Nassarawa Eggon West), announced the suspension of the members.

Akwashiki said, “13 lawmakers and me have voted in support of a motion moved for the suspension of the six lawmakers who misbehaved during our sitting on Monday.

“They are Kassim Mohammed-Kassim (APC-Akwanga South), Murtala Sodangi (APC-Nasarawa Central), Mohammed Okpoku (APC-Udege/ Loko, Musa Ali (APC-Keffi East), Makpa Malla (APC-Wamba) and Abubakar Kana (APC-Kokona West).

“These lawmakers are suspended from the house indefinitely without salary and allowances over their misconduct.”

The decision follows a motion moved by the Majority Leader of the house, Mr Tanko Tunga (APC-Awe North).

Tunga had said that the six lawmakers be suspended over misconduct and for corruption allegations they levelled against members of the house.

The action of the six members had caused a confusion which resulted into chaos among members and it is in view of this that I want to move a motion for their suspension so as to serve as deterrent to other lawmakers,’’ he said.

YOU MAY ALSO LIKE:   Why I appointed more Northerners – Buhari finally opens up

The motion was seconded by the Minority Leader of the house, Alhaji Mohammed Ibrahim-Alkali (PDP-Lafia North).

But in their reaction, Chairman, House Committee on Information, Malla (APC-Wamba), who spoke on behalf of the suspended lawmakers, described the action as “a rape of democracy’’.

“This is ridiculous; they have no basis of doing that because it is an assault on the rule of law.

“How will they suspend us because we said that the right thing must be done and the rule of law must follow in regard to the appointment of 11 sole administrators?

“We will seek redress; we are law-abiding lawmakers; we know the right thing to be done and we have already briefed our lawyers on the next line of action,’’ he said.

It was leant that the house has constituted an ad hoc committee to be chaired by the Chairman of its Committee on Public Complaint and Petitions, Alhaji Mohammed Ibrahim-Alkali, to look into the matter.

The Whistler

Kindly share this story

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.