Ambode forwards 36 cabinet names for Lagos state assembly to screen

Lagos State Governor, Akinwunmi Ambode
Lagos State Governor, Akinwunmi Ambode

Lagos State Governor, Akinwunmi Ambode, on Monday presented the list of would-be cabinet members to the state House of Assembly for screening.

The Clerk of the House, Ganiyu Abiru, read the names on the floor to members.

The governor is requesting the screening and approval of 36 persons with 23 as Commissioners and 13 as Special Advisers.
Amongst the names are six former cabinet members from the Babatunde Raji Fashola administration, including former Commissioner for Agriculture, Gbolahan Lawal; former Commissioner for Health, Jide Idris; former Special Adviser, Central Business District, Folarin Coker; former Special Adviser Commerce and Industry, Seye Oladejo; former Special Adviser Works and Infrastructure, Ganiyu Johnson and former Special Adviser, Rural Development, Babatunde Hunpe.

Governor Ambode had made good his promise at the inaugural address to inject new blood into governance, based on merit and professionalism.
It is made up of top technocrats, politicians and strategists.
The governor named a relatively young cabinet with the likes of Yetunde Onabolu, Fela Bank-Olemoh, Akinyemi Ashade, a partner in KPMG, former Managing Director, National Mirror, Steve Ayorinde, Uzamat Akinbile-Yusuf, a pharmacist, Kehinde Joseph and Prof. Ademola Abass, a professor of Law, whose ages range between 39 and 47 years.
Other names include Akintola Benson; former Special Adviser Political and Legislative Powers Bureau, Abdul-Hakeem Abdul-Latee; Mohammed Akinkunmi, former member, House of Representatives; Babatunde Adejare; Dr. Femi Onanuga; CEO of LAMATA, Dayo Mobereola; Ade Akinsanya; Wasiu Anifowoshe; and former member, House of Assembly, Lola Akande.

YOU MAY ALSO LIKE:   Fashola Writes Lagosians on the Saturday Governorship Election

Also on the list are Agboola Dabiri; Ganiu Okanlomo Sanni; Anofi Elegushi; Rotimi Ogunleye; Adebimpe Akinsola, Femi Odubiyi, Musiliu Folami; Adeniji Kazeem; Adeyemi Labinjo; Toyin Suarau, Babatunde Durosinmi-Etti; Deji Tinubu; Mudirat Giwanson, Wale Oluwo and former Chairman Ejigbo LCDA, Kehinde Bamigbetan.

According to a statement by the spokesperson to the governor, Habib Aruna, the screening of the list is expected to commence immediately after the Sallah holidays while cleared cabinet members would likely be sworn in on Monday, October 5.

Premium Times

Kindly share this story

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.