NUC releases list of Nigerian universities approved for post-graduate programmes [Full list]

The National Universities Commission (NUC) has released a full list of approved post-graduate awarding institutions in Nigeria.

A bulletin from the office of the Executive Secretary dated May 14 contains the list of federal, state and private universities currently allowed to issue such certificates to students in Nigeria.

“The commission has also observed some parastatals and institutes awarding these same postgraduate degrees, either on their own or through unapproved affiliation with Nigerian and foreign universities.

“The commission hereby notifies the general public that only the following universities have approval to offer postgraduate programmes at the Masters’ and Ph.D levels in Nigeria as of July 30,2012,” the bulletin said.

According to the bulletin, Nigeria has 162 universities: 41 are federal, 47 are state owned while 74 are privately owned institutions.

Out of the 41 federal universities across the country, 26 are approved by the commission for post-graduate programmes:

Full list below:

  1. Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi

  2. Ahmodu Bello University, Zaria

  3. Bayero University, Kano

  4. Federal University of Technology, Akure

  5. Federal University of Technology, Minna

  6. Federal University of Technology, Owerri

  7. Micheal Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike

  8. Modibbo Adama University of Technology, Yola

  9. National Open University of Nigeria, Lagos

  10. Nigeria Defence Academy, Kaduna

  11. Nnamdi Azikwe University, Akwa

  12. Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile Ife

  13. University of Abuja, Gwagwalada

  14. University of Agriculture, Abeokuta

  15. University of Agriculture, Makurdi

  16. University of Benin, Benin City

  17. University of Calabar, Calabar

  18. University of Ibadan, Ibadan

  19. University of Ilorin, Ilorin

  20. University of Jos, Jos

  21. University of Lagos, Akoko

  22. University of Maiduguri, Maiduguri

  23. University of Nigeria, Nsukka

  24. University of Port Harcourt, Port Harcourt

  25. University of Uyo, Uyo

  26. Usmanu Dan Fodio University, Sokoto

YOU MAY ALSO LIKE:   Nigeria Universities Commission Budgets N85m for cars but N8m for Research & Development In 2018 Budget

Similarly, only 25 state universities were approved by the commission for post-graduate programmes out of the 47 state owned universities in the country. The approved universities are :

  1. Abia State University, Uturu

  2. Adamawa State University, Mubi

  3. Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba Akoko

  4. Ambrose Alli University, Ekpoma

  5. Anambra University, Uli

  6. Benue State University, Makurdi

  7. Cross River University of Technology, Calabar

  8. Delta State University, Abraka

  9. Ebonyi State University, Abakaliki

  10. Ekiti State University, Ado Ekiti

  11. Enugu State University of Science and Technology, Enugu

  12. Imo State University, Owerri

  13. Kogi State University, Anyigba

  14. Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Ogbomoso

  15. Lagos State University, Ojo

  16. Nasarawa State University, Keffi

  17. Niger Delta University, Wilberforce Island

  18. Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago Iwoye

  19. Rivers State University of Science and Technology

  20. Umar Musa Yar’Adua University, Katsina

  21. Gombe State University, Gombe

  22. Ibrahim Babangida University, Lapai

  23. Kano State University of Science and Technology

  24. Kebbi State University of Science and Technology

  25. Kwara State University, Malete

YOU MAY ALSO LIKE:   Nigerians Blast National Universities Commission Boss After His Son Graduates From UK University (Screenshots)

Meanwhile, only 18 universities out of 74 private universities were approved for post-graduate studies. The 18 institutions are:

  1. African University of Science and Technology, Abuja

  2. American University of Nigeria, Yola

  3. Babcock University, Ilishan Remo

  4. Benson Idahosa University, Benin City

  5. Bowen University, Iwo

  6. Covenant University, Ota

  7. Igbiniedo University, Okada

  8. Pan-African University, Lekki

  9. Redeemer’s University, Mowe, Ogun State

  10. Caleb University, Lagos

  11. Joseph Ayo Babalola University, Ikeji-Arakeji

  12. Nigerian Turkish Nile University, Abuja

  13. Afe Babalola University, Ado Ekiti, Ekiti State

  14. Lead City University, Ibadan (MSc. Only)

  15. University of Mkar, Mkar (MSc. Only)

  16. Madona University, Okija

  17. Al-hikmah University, Ilorin (MSc. Only)

  18. Godfrey Okoye University, Ugwuomu-Nike , Enugu state.

“Employers of labour, educational institutions and other stakeholders are to note that only certificates issued by these universities for their approved programmes, are valid for employment, further studies and other purposes,” the commission said.

Buhari is a weak leader – Ben Bruce
‘I will not be slaughtered easily’ – Wike fires back at Nigerian govt

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.